Question about DPS number on Stats Sheet?

So I'm completely new to this style of game, never played the diablo franchise at all. A friend of mine told me that the DPS listed on my stats sheet wasn't that important for me as a caster. He says the only thing I should worry about when increasing my damage is the damage increase from Intellect. Can someone maybe clear this up for me?
    I can clear up that your friend is wrong
    There is almost nothing more important for a Wizard than the damage output. After all, that is what they do.

What you want to be focusing on is (in my opinion) a good weapon with decent damage (and also pay extra attention to the +XX-XX damage listed in the stats), a good Source offhand (not a shield, I was mistaken in that the first time, the shield doesnt give extra +Damage as where alot of Source offhands do) because that will increase your damage dramatically.

The main stats will be:
    Intelligence on anything you can get it on, in as high amounts as you can find
    Attack Speed % on your Rings + Hands
    Damage on your Main Hand + Source Offhand

Try and get some Vitality with that if you can, it will increase your survivability when you get to higher difficulties.
    thank you Faithful, thats very helpful ;)

but i have dilema
    sabre with 80 dmg + offheand 8-17 dmg ...
    or stuff with 260 dmg
    ???
    Quote from lignja8

thank you Faithful, thats very helpful ;)

but i have dilema
    sabre with 80 dmg + offheand 8-17 dmg ...
    or stuff with 260 dmg
    ???

The name is Fomorian, haha :) Faithful is the forum member title ;-)

What you have to pay attention to is:
    A 1-handed weapon has the big number (example 80) and right under that a number like 60-85 damage

But some weapons have an additional (elemental) damage stat (placed together with where Intelligence / Vitality would be), if you have a weapon with high base damage, and that additional stat, that will increase your damage alot.