Can anybody explain gem prices?

Creating a maximum level gem cost 15.4 million gold in fees alone.

Yet currently, the prices are thus:
    Ruby: 7 million
    Emerald: 9 million
    Topaz: 4 million
    Amnethyst: 2.5 million

How is it possible that these gems are selling for a lot less than it costs to create them? Prices also seem to continuously fall even further.

I am no expert in economics, but I think if a commodity sells for a lot less than it costs to produce it, there must be a serious oversupply. An existing oversupply mind you, because there is no reason to produce any more.

Somehow I doubt that everybody who'd want high gems (and there is no reason not to) already has them. Maybe a lot of people had produced gems en masse while prices were high and somehow failed to sell them, without that causing prices to fall earlier, but that seems improbable.

Does anybody have a good explanation of this phenomenon that avoids assuming a widespread stupidity or simple duping?
    I can't offer a concrete explaination but I can at least give my two sense. I know that one popular theory is that some people who currently have gems are quiting the game and therefore don't care what they sell for, they are just trying to liquidate their equipment (including gems) to get a little take home cash.

Another theory is that there is a number of gems on the market but trading is still going on. People are trying the play the gold AH and the RMAH. When the minimum buyout for gold was $.25 x 100k gold, people would by gems off of one market and sell on the other market to turn a profit.

And as an aside, at what time did you see topazes for 4mil? I was on last night and they were going for 10 mil.
    Its caused by duping, radiant stars on Asian servers r going for 500k...
    Its been a problem for some time, seems blizzard dosnt really give a damn and will "wait and fix it later" >_>
    Quote from Frolk