Powerleveling with Monk? - Trying to catch up my friends

Hello lads. It's great to see that the Diablo 3 has created such a cool community.

Anyway, here's my issue:

For 20 days now I have been following streams and listening stories of playing Diablo 3. My friends bought the game on it's release date but I did not. I had to read for entrance exams for University and actually im still reading as they are on Wednesday. After that I will walk to the nearest store to buy the game and will enjoy the game after couple months of heavy reading.

So, my friends are 60 and probably in the first act of Inferno. My goal is to catch them up with couple days of powerleveling with monk. I will be playing solo. Anyway, I need your guys help for this challenge. I don't have time to read dozens of theorycrafting sites so im kindly asking for help.

Any advice is welcome. Need help with the fastest build possible and powerleveling strategies. Im new to Diablo but I know quite a lot of the game as I have followed streams and watched my friends playing.

Thanks already,

Dreico
    I had to work 7 12 hour days when D3 dropped. I was always behind my friends (still am kinda). But anyways I stacked experience gear as much as possible over everything else and cruised my way up to ~53-54-ish. Had absolutely zero issues until the end of Hell act iii/beginning of iv.

At this point I had to get wayy more vitality/dex/dmg/resist, more or less gear a little more seriously. Until that point stack experience and use the % experience gem in helm (if you have a socket in your helm). Also definately upgrade your weapon at least every act or every other act. Getting a higher dps weapon will greatly help you kill stuff and grind out that experience that much faster.

Hope that helped. GLHF.

edit: also IAS/LoH (increased attack speed/life on hit) is really strong as you get to higher, tougher content. Keep a lookout for it either cheap on the AH or if it drops for you