Frame Rate Drops in multiple game modes

• Diablo Team/Blizzard,

Let me start by confessing – I am one of millions of your dedicated Diablo addicts. I have been with Diablo since day 1 and have more hours of gameplay that is probably healthy for a grown man should play. I am a Cyber Security engineer by day, and die-hard Diablo player by night. I have been to 3 Blizzcons, have pictures with Wyatt Cheng, and will defend Diablo as being the greatest game ever.

However, I am reaching my boiling point. I have skipped the last few Diablo seasons because I simply cannot stand the frame rate drops any longer. I have awaited patches and fixes, while patiently biting my tongue for far too long. When patches failed me, I turned to spending thousands of dollars in computer equipment to try and fix it with hardware from my end – all to no avail.

With this newest pending patch, I felt that my frustrations were finally being addressed So with excitement and eager delight, I logged into the PTR environment to test the new 90fps support since I could never get 60fps working without drops – only to be yet again disappointed.

I have a EVGA NVIDIA GTX 970. I have tried every setting possible individually and some combinations of them. I am currently in the 64bit PTR client with a 90hz monitor, I have also enabled 90hz via my NVIDIA settings. With the changes posted in the PTR regarding frame rate and 64bit client, it seems you may be taking steps to resolve the drops even though this is still not being acknowledged.

I am now finally able to get zero frame drops with multiple people playing but it is NOT consistent, as soon as I leave the client and come back, chances are it will start dropping again, until I switch Screen mode to full-screen, and back again. It is so inconsistent on how I have gotten this to work. I have to do the following to get it to not drop with multiple users in the game:

MaxForegroundFPS "90"
    ChannelsToUse "16"
    DisableTrilinearFiltering "1"