Ramalandi's Gift Clarification:

  • Lets say I have a chest, with Str, Vit, armor, res all. Can I use this item to get past the 4/2 system and have all its stats PLUS 3 sockets?

    Also, if I have a piece of gear already rolled with sockets, can I re-roll the socket to something else, then use this item to get sockets on it with an extra stat?

    I dont think Ive seen any solid information on this, the description in the patch was vague.
  • Presently Ramalandi's Gift has an incorrect tooltip and patch note, which makes it very confusing to decipher how it's supposed to work. Also, the item is not yet fully implemented, which means it can't be looted right now (even though it's dropping on the PTR). We're aware of that issue, but we don't have an ETA to share at the moment on when we expect it to be 100% functional.

    That said, here's how Ramalandi's Gift is currently intended to work. This is all with the caveat that it's still under development, and potentially subject to change:

    • It will add a socket to an unsocketed weapon
    • It only works on weapons
    • It will work on enchanted weapons, so long as they don't have a socket
    • It effectively adds an item affix in the form of a socket
  • 06/26/2014 01:57 PMPosted by Morthon
    unless you mean an unsocketed item, that you use the gift on, then change the new sockets made with the gift into another affix, then use the gift again.

    which is a total abuse, and i'm HOPING that Blizz saw that possibility coming from miles away and already has a stop gap to prevent that sort of thing


    Great question! (Or consideration.)

    • The added socket provided by Ramaladni's Gift cannot be enchanted.
    • You cannot use Ramaladni's on a weapon more than once.
    • Similarly, you cannot use Ramaladni's on a weapon that already has a socket.


    You can, however:
    • Replace a natural socket on a weapon with another primary stat (like VIT or STR or INT), and then use Ramaladni's after.
    • Replace a re-rolled socket on a weapon with another primary stat (like VIT or STR or INT), and then use Ramaladni's Gift after.
    • Enchant a weapon after a socket has been added using Ramaladni's Gift. You just won't be able to re-roll another socket on that particular weapon.


    I realize the above may be somewhat confusing, so please let me know if you have any additional questions about this item's functionality.

    Edited to add: This is how the item should work under current design. That design may change before PTR ships.
  • Some of you have been wondering if you'll be able to re-roll the gifted socket from Ramalandi's Gift, and that's a good question. I dug around to find out, and the answer is that the socket this Legendary consumable provides to a weapon is not eligible for Enchanting.

    Of course, this is still under development, though, so there's a chance that it will change before all is said and done.